▼Previous page

By William May
(Japan Amateur Wrestling Federation, Public Information Committee:wmay52@hotmail.com


MOSCOW (September 12) – Defending champion Bilyal Makhov (RUS) edged two-time Olympic gold medalist Artur Taimazov (UZB) for the heavyweight crown as the men's freestyle events and wrestling world championships came to a close.

Makhov scored a force-out point in each of the two periods of the 120kg final at Olympiysky Sports Complex for his third straight world championship crown. Makhov won his first title in 2007 and was forced out of the 2008 Olympics with health issues before back-to-back wins in 2009 and this year.

Taimazov, the owner of two Olympic gold medals and two world championship crowns, was left with his second runner-up finish at the world meet to go with a silver medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympics. The heavyweight bronze medals went to Levan Beranidze (GEO) and Iaonnis Arzoumanidis (GRE), who earned his second straight world bronze.

At 74kg, defending champion Denis Tsargush (RUS) started cautiously but opened up in the second period with a pair of force-outs and a go-behind counter for a 2-0 win over Sadegh Goudarzi (IRI). Despite the loss, Goudarzi improved one step from last year's bronze medal. The bronze medals went to Gabor Hatos (HUN), a former European bronze medal winner, and 2006 Asian Games bronze medalist Abdulhakim Shapiev (KAZ).

At 66kg, Kumar Sushil (IND) edged junior world champ Alan Gogaev (RUS) to become India's first world champion in the history of the championships.

Sushil, a bronze medalist at the Beijing Olympics, scored with one second left in the first period of the final and then scored with a quick duck-under to go-behind midway through the second and made it stand for the title. India's only previous finalist in the world championships was Bishember Ali Singh who took the silver medal at 57 in the 1967 New Delhi world championships.

The bronze medals at 66kg went to 2007 world silver medalist Geandry Garzon Caballero (CUB) and European champion Yabrail Hasanov (AZE).


Men's freestyle

66kg (35 entries)
F1 – Kumar Sushil (IND) df. Alan Gogaev (RUS), 2-0 (2-1, 1-0)
F3 – Yabrail Hasanov (AZE) df. Buyanjav Batsorig (MGL), 2-0 (1-2, 3-0)
F3 – Geandry Garzon Caballero (CUB) df. Haislan Garcia Veranes (CAN), 2-0 (4-1, 1-0)
SF – Sushil (IND) df. Hasanov (AZE), 2=1 (0-1=2:17, 1-0, 2-3)
SF – Gogaev (RUS) df. Garzon Caballero (CUB), 2-0 (3-0, 1-0)

74kg (35 entries)
F1 – Denis Tsargush (RUS) df. Sadegh Goudarzi (IRI),2-0 (1-0, 3-0)
F3 – Gabor Hatos (HUN) df. Krystian Brzozowski (POL), 2-0 (1-0, 2-0)
F3 – Abdulhakim Shapiev (KAZ) df. Ivan Fundora (CUB), 2-1 (1-0, 0-1, 1-0)
SF – Denis Tsargush (RUS) df. Gabor Hatos (HUN), 2-0 (3-0, 1-0=2:02)
SF – Sadegh Saeed Goudarzi (IRI) df. Ivan Fundora (CUB), 2-1 (2-1, 1-3, 4-0)

120kg (28 entries)
F1 – Bilyal Makhov (RUS) df. Artur Taimazov (UZB), 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
F3 – Levan Berianidze (GEO) df. Daniel Ligeti ((HUN), 2-1 (3-0, 0-1, 4-0)
F3 – Ioannis Arzoumanidis (GRE) df. Ali Issaev (AZE), 2-0 (1-0, 1-0=2:21)
SF – Bilyal Makhov (RUS) df. Levan Berianidze (GEO), 2-0 (2-1, 1-0)
SF – Artur Taimazov (UZB) df. Ioannis Arzoumanidis (GRE), 2-0 (3-0, 3-1)

▼Previous page
Page Top ▲

ホームページ テンプレート フリー

Design by