▼Previous page

By William May
(Japan Amateur Wrestling Federation, Public Information Committee:wmay52@hotmail.com


MOSCOW (September 10) – Stanka Zlateva (BUL) reclaimed her heavyweight crown and Martine Dugrenier (CAN) won her third straight as the women's events came to close at the wrestling world championships in Moscow.

Zlateva defeated Ohenewa Akuffo 2-0 in the 72kg final at Olympiysky Sports Complex for her fourth world title after finishing with a bronze medal in 2009. Akuffo, meanwhile, won her second world-level medal after taking a bronze in 2008. Akuffo's Canadian teammate Martine Dugrenier (CAN) rallied from behind to defeat Elena Shalygina (KAZ) by technical superiority in the 67kg final for her third straight world title. Before her first world title in 2008, Dugrenier finished as runner-up at the three previous world meets.

At 72kg, five-time former world champion Kyoko Hamaguchi won her fifth world-level bronze medal, including two in the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games. It was her 12th overall medal won at the world championships and Olympic Games. The other bronze medal at 67kg went to Ekaterina Bukina (RUS), the silver medalist in this year's European championships behind Zlateva.

At 67kg, Ifeoma Iheanacho (NGR) won her second bronze medal in a row by pinning Mami Shinkai (JPN) in the first period. Alla Cherkasova (UKR) took the other bronze medal by injury default over European champion Nadya Sementsova (AZE).

In the men's freestyle competition, Viktor Lebedev (RUS) edged European junior champ Toghrul Asgarov (AZE) for his first world title after finishing with the bronze medal a year ago.

With the victory, Lebedev becomes the seventh different wrestler in seven years to wear the 55kg crown in men's freestyle.
The bronze medals went to Pan American champ Frank Chamiz Marquez (CUB) and former world student champion Yasuhiro Inaba (JPN).

Men's freestyle continues on September 11 with action in the 60kg, 84kg and 96kg weight categories.


Women's freestyle
67kg (17 entries)
F1 – Martine Dugrenier (CAN) df. Elena Shalygina (KAZ) by TF, 2-1 (0-2, 6-0=0:45, 7-0=1:06)
F3 – Ifeoma Iheanacho (NGR) df. Mami Shinkai (JPN) by fall, 1P=1:02 (F5-0)
F3 – Alla Cherkasova (UKR) df. Nadya Sementsova (AZE) by injury default, 2P=1:00 (1-0, Def1-0)
SF – Dugrenier (CAN) df. Iheanacho (NGR), 2-0 (3-0, 5-1)
SF – Shalygina (KAZ) df. Cherkasova (UKR), 2-1 (1-0, 0-3, 6-0)

72kg (20 entries)
F1 – Stanka Zlateva (BUL) df. Ohenewa Akuffo (CAN), 2-0 (1-0, 2-0)
F3 - Ekaterina Bukina (RUS) df. Jenny Fransson (SWE), 2-1 (0-1, 4-3, 1-0=2:11)
F3 – Kyoko Hamaguchi (JPN) df. Maider Unda (ESP), 2-0 (1x-1=last point, 2-0=2:04)
SF – Zlateva (BUL) df. Fransson (SWE), 2-0 (3-0, 1-1)
SF – Akuffo (CAN) df. Hamaguchi (JPN), 2-1 (0-3=2:05, 3-0, 1-0=2:02)

Men's freestyle
55kg (34 entries)
F1 – Viktor Lebedev (RUS) df. Toghrul Asgarov (AZE), 2-1 (1-0=2:07, 0-3=2:07, 1-0)
F3 – Frank Chamizo Marquez (CUB) df. Kim Hyo-Sub (KOR), 2-1 (1-0=2:04, 2-3, 5-1)
F3 – Yasuhiro Inaba (JPN) df. Bayaraa Naranbaatar (MGL), 2-0 (1-0, 6-0=1:28)
SF – Lebedev (RUS) df. Chamizo Marquez (CUB), 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
SF – Asgarov (AZE) df. Inaba (JPN), 2-1 (6-0=1:32, 1-1, 2-1)

▼Previous page
Page Top ▲

ホームページ テンプレート フリー

Design by