To Our Friends in Wrestling Around the world


By William May
(Japan Amateur Wrestling Federation, Public Information Committee
Kyodo World Services, senior sports


  TOKYO (May 22) - Japan saw six of its entries, including its four Olympic representatives, advance out of their preliminary pools on the first day of the Asian women痴 wrestling championships. Two-time world champion Saori Yoshida recorded three falls at 55 kg to march into the championship finals May 23 at the Olympic Youth Memorial Center in Tokyo.

  Yoshida, whose falls all came inside of 45 seconds, will face fellow Olympic Lee Na Lae of Korea in the finals. Lee also recorded three falls in her preliminary group. Joining Yoshida in the parade of finalists for Japan will be world champions Kyoko Hamaguchi (72 kg), Kaori Icho (63), Asia champion Norie Saito (67) and national team newcomer Yuri Kai (51). Chiharu Icho advanced to the semifinals at 48 with victories by fall and technical fall.

  The only Japanese woman who failed to advance beyond the preliminaries was Kei Yamana, who posted a win against one loss at 59 kg.

First day results:

48 kg (10 entries)

Pool A
Chiharu Icho (JPN) df. Suphornphan Kaewsawat (THA) by fall, 1:36 (8-0)
Tadjimuratova Uljan (UZB) df. Suphornphan Kaewsawat (THA) by fall, 2:29 (4-2)
Chiharu Icho (JPN) df. Tadjimuratova Uljan (UZB) by TF, 10-0, 1:46

Pool B
Deng Weichan (CHN) df. Le Thi Trang (VIE), 10-6
Deng Weichan (CHN) df. Park Young-Hee (KOR) by TF, 11-0, 2:53
Le Thi Trang (VIE) df. Park Young-Hee (KOR) by fall, 1:57 (10-0)

Pool C
Baasanjargal Dashdavaa (MGL) df. Zaynulina Alfia (KGZ) by TF, 11-0, 3:33
Wu Li-chuan (TPE) df. Kamini Yadav (IND), 9-1
Baasanjargal Dashdavaa (MGL) df. Wu Li-Chuan (TPE), 7-4
Kamini Yadav (IND) df. Zaynulina Alfia (KGZ) by TF, 12-1, 3:24
Baasanjargal Dashdavaa (MGL) df. Kamini Yadav (IND), 4-3
Wu Li-Chuan (TPE) df. Zaynulina Alfia (KGZ) by fall, 1:01 (2-0)

Repechage (two rounds)
Le Thi Trang (VIE) df. Tadjimuratova Uljan (UZB) by fall, 4:07 (13-8)
Wu Li-Chuan df. Tadjimuratova Uljan (UZB) by fall, 5:18 (7-0)
51 kg (8 entries)

Pool A
Yuri Kai (JPN) df. Mirzaeva Dinara (UZB), 9-1
Neha Rathi (IND) df. Onanong Chari (THA), 6-1
Yuri Kai (JPN) df. Onanong Chari (THA) by fall, 4:02 (9-0)
Mirzaeva Dinara (UZB) df. Neha Rathi (IND), 5-3, 6:22
Yuri Kai (JPN) df. Neha Rathi (IND) by fall, 1:08 (6-0)
Mirzaeva Dinara (UZB) df. Onanong Chari (THA) by TF, 10-0, 2:55

Pool B
Enkhjargal Tsogtbazar (MGL) df. Wang Ying-chi (TPE), 10-2
Kim Hyung-Joo (KOR) df. Mustafani Bekzat (KAZ), 7-6
Enkhjargal Tsogtbazar (MGL) df. Mustafani Bekzat (KAZ) by fall, 1:35 (9-0)
Kim Hyung-Joo (KOR) df. Wang Ying-chi (TPE), 7-4
Enkhjargal Tsogtbazar (MGL) df. Kim Hyung-Joo (KOR) by TF, 13-2, 4:41
Mustafani Bekzat (KAZ) df. Wang Ying-chi (TPE) by fall, 5:38 (5-7)
55 kg (8 entries)

Pool A
Otgonjargal Naidan (MGL) df. Qiu Hongmei (CHN) by fall, 3:13 (4-0)
Saori Yoshida (JPN) df. Lin Chia-hua (TPE) by fall, 0:42 (6-0)
Qiu Hongmei (CHN) df. Lin Chia-hua (TPE) by fall, 4:02 (13-0)
Saori Yoshida (JPN) df. Otgonjargal Naidan (MGL) by fall, 0:45 (4-0)
Saori Yoshida (JPN) df. Qiu Hongmei (CHN) by fall, 0:40 (5-0)
Otgonjargal Naidan (MGL) df. Lin Chia-hua (TPE) by TF, 11-0, 2:14

Pool B
Renu Bala (IND) df. Duong Thi Thuy (VIE) by fall, 2:59 (10-4)
Lee Na-Lae (KOR) df. Pattana Promeam (THA) by fall, 0:27 (4-0)
Lee Na-Lae (KOR) df. Renu Bala (IND) by fall, 2:59 (10-0)
Duong Thi Thuy (VIE) df. Pattana Promeam (THA) by fall, 1:47 (12-1)
Renu Bala (IND) df. Pattana Promeam (THA) by fall, 1:18 (9-1)
Lee Na-Lae (KOR) df. Duong Thi Thuy (VIE) by fall, 1:24 (6-0)
59 kg (9 entries)

Pool A
Artikbaeva Ainur (UZB) df. Wongdurn Comrahung (THA) by fall, 0:47 (3-0)
Su Lihui (CHN) df. Artikbaeva Ainur (UZB) by TF, 10-0, 1:43
Su Lihui (CH) df. Wongdurn Comrahung (THA) by TF, 10-0, 2:15

Pool B
Kei Yamana (JPN) df. Myagmarsuren Ochirbat (MGL), 5-3
Alka Tomar (IND) df. Kei Yamana (JPN), 4-1, 6:07
Myagmarsuren Ochirbat (MGL) df. Alka Tomar (IND), 4-2, 6:10
(Myagmarsuren Ochirbat advances to semifinals, Alka Tomar advances to
repechage group on criteria)

Pool C
Kim Hee-Jung (KOR) df. Dinbaeva Miruert (KAZ) by fall, 1:47 (4-0)
Kim Hee-Jung (KOR) df. Hou Min-wen (TPE) by TF, 10-0, 3:47
Dinbaeva Miruert (KAZ) df. Hou Min-wen (TPE), 7-1

Repechage (two rounds)
Alka Tomar (IND) df. Artikbaeva Ainur (UZB) by fall, 1:03 (3-1)
Dinbaeva Miruert (KAZ) df. Artikbaeva Ainur (UZB) by default
63 kg (7 entries)

Pool A
Nasanburmaa Ochirbat (MGL) df. Darya Karpenko (KAZ) by TF, 13-3, 5:56
Su Huihua (CHN) df. Darya Karpenko (KAZ) by TF, 10-0, 1:40
Su Huihua (CHN) df. Nasanburmaa Ochirbat (MGL) by fall, 1:01 (2-1)

Pool B
Kaori Icho (JPN) df. Wanlapa Phuyim (THA) by fall, 0:50 (8-0)
Geetika Jakhar (IND) df. Hang Jin-Young (KOR) by fall, 4:05 (4-0)
Kaori Icho (JPN) df. Hang Jin-Young (KOR) by fall, 3:54 (10-0)
Geetika Jakhar (IND) df. Wanlapa Phuyim (THA) by TF, 10-0, 1:18
Kaori Icho (JPN) df. Geetika Jakhar (IND) by TF, 12-0, 3:53
Hang Jin-Young (KOR) df. Wanlapa Phuyim (THA) by fall, 0:28 (6-0)
67 kg (6 entries)

Pool A
Panova Yana (KGZ) df. Luong Thi Quen (VIE) by TF, 12-1, 4:27
Sugar Dalkh-Ochir (MGL) df. Luong Thi Quen (VIE) by fall, 2:50 (3-3)
Panova Yana (KGZ) df. Sugar Dalkh-Ochir (MGL), 4-1

Pool B
Norie Saito (JPN) df. Kiran Sihag (IND) by TF, 12-0, 2:36
Norie Saito (JPN) df. Yoon So-Young (KOR) by fall, 2:45 (2-0)
Kiran Sihag (IND) df. Yoon So-Young (KOR), 4-3
72 kg (6 entries)

Pool A
Kyoko Hamaguchi (JPN) df. Zhang Dan (CHN) by TF, 11-1, 4:59
Kyoko Hamaguchi (JPN) df. Sonika Kaliraman (IND) by fall, 0:22 (3-0)
Zhang Dan (CHN) df. Sonika Kaliraman (IND) by TF, 10-0, 1:20

Pool B
Burmaa Ochirbat (MGL) df. Kang Min-Jung (KOR), 3-1, 6:36
Burmaa Ochirbat (MGL) df. Shadoyan Karine (UZB), 3-1, 6:20
Kang Min-Jung (KOR) df. Shadoyan Karine (UZB), 3-2